Dangerous Curves Ahead

For those who love to sew curves, I solute you.  I have been a curve avoid-er my whole life.  In fact, when I started sewing my own clothing as a teenager, I made all of my blouses without sleeves…it became my thing…

While I generally do not spend too much time in my studio during the summer, preferring to design instead (read the previous post); I decided to participate in a quilter community sew-along of sorts to keep my technical skills fresh.   I am working on the #SummerSampler2016 (also mentioned earlier) and boy, it has something for everybody, including me.

I am a little behind in making my blocks, but pushed through a few this weekend.  Yesterday, I had a great time with paper piecing.  I love paper piecing.  It is the only way this quilter can get perfectly exact blocks, every single time.   However, despite my best efforts in planning and visualizing my start, I ALWAYS sew the first step incorrectly…Every…single…time…I guess that is also my thing.

Today’s goal included knocking out Block #7 of the Summer Sampler 2016 series called “Trail Crossing” by Lee Heinrich of ‘Freshly Pieced’.  This is the mother of a dreaded curve block…not just one…many, many curves.  Eight in fact.  And, you know what?  I kind of dig ’em.  I decided to over-pin my pieces and decided that the right amount of pinning is however many pins you need…period.   My fabric choice makes me think of men’s neckties!

IMG_0385IMG_0386

While I’m not sure if I am about to start introducing curves into my designing, I am a little less anxious about working with them.

Happy creating.

 

Leave a Reply

